Crispymas Eve

by

Christmas Eve was AWESOME!!

Fryer Thermometer

I deep fried everything and why not, tis the season for some seasoning. First off, if you have never deep fried a turkey, what the hell are you waiting for.
Turkey
How good does that look!!!! I am getting hungry again.

So, you might be thinking what about the gravy? Well, glad you asked. Whilst I was frying the turkey, I baked the guts and neck in the oven. So, my dad is/was a chef for 30+ years, so yes the stuff is hereditary, he gave me the idea. So after the guts were done baking, I deglazed the pan with chicken bouillon. Then my dad took the guts and neck and chopped it up finely and added it back to the deglazed pan. Added some more stock, added a roux, seasoned to taste, VOILA! Gravy. But this is not about the gravy, mealy how to get some gravy in a pinch.

Sufficed to say, the turkey was delicious. BUT what about the oil, you may or may not be asking. I am glad you did ask though.
Being Filipino (ok 50% Filipino, but my pallet is 100% Filipino) what else do you deep fry…POOOOOOORRRKKK, not just pork, pork belly (queue Homer Simpson drool)
Pork Belly

Yes, pork belly, and it was too delicious. I love the smell of deep frying fat, mmmmmmmm.
Deep Fried Yumminess
So, surprisingly enough, the pork was not killed off like I thought would happen. I mean how can you not kill off this:
mmmmmmm

So, what to do what to do. 2 syllables, sisig. OH MY GAW!!!! My first attempt at sisig. I was nierbous, hahahaha, I mean come on, all of the aunties and drunkles want some palutan (drinking food). So, I had an auntie with the assist. I hooked it up and it was delicious and a hit! Note to self, where gloves when cutting peppers, and definitely do NOT touch your face. That will be for another blog, hahahahahaha

One Response to “Crispymas Eve”

  1. Elle Says:

    I hope you fried everything in rice oil. I love anything fried!!!

Leave a comment